history images Mound City on the Mississippi Home Page
image menu Buildings, Sites, and Objects People, Places, and Things Events, Incidents, and Occurrences Bibliography


Name:    Saarinen, Eero
Category:  Architecture, Cultural Life, Demographics (immigration, etc.), Human and Social Services
Born/Started:    1910
Died/Ended:    1961
Description:    Eero Saarinen was the architect who submitted the winning design for the Gateway Arch.

Born in Helsinki, he emigrated with his family to the United States in 1923. He initially studied sculpture at the Académie de la Grande Chaumiére in Paris (1929/30). He began practicing architecture in the U.S. with his father, Eliel, in 1936 after receiving a B.A. at Yale University in 1934. Their collaboration won the first prize of the Smithsonian Institution Gallery of Art competition in 1939. In 1937, he began a collaboration with Charles Eames which culminated in a series of highly progressive and prize-winning furniture designs for The Museum of Modern Art´s 1940 "Organic Design in Home Furnishings" competition. He later produced several highly successful furniture designs for Knoll International. His greatest architectural project was the TWA terminal at John F. Kennedy Airport in New York.

Saarinen went on to gain world wide recognition for winning the design competition for the Jefferson National Expansion Memorial in St. Louis, later known as the Gateway Arch. His design of the Arch was chosen on February 18, 1948 as the winner of the Jefferson National Expansion Memorial Design Competition. He was awarded $50,000 for his winning design.

Structures & Places
Arch,Jefferson National Expansion Memorial Gateway
Jefferson National Expansion Site

Related Links
Arch Projects
Scandinavian Designers-Eero Saarinen



about historic preservationnew entries4 kids onlymap it!

This site was made possible by: the City of St. Louis Planning and Urban Design Agency and
the City of St. Louis Community Information Network.

This site was funded in part by Federal funds administered by the Missouri State Historical Preservation Office, Missouri Department of Natural Resources, The National Park Service, and the U.S. Department of the Interior.

Version 1.0