history images Mound City on the Mississippi Home Page
image menu Buildings, Sites, and Objects People, Places, and Things Events, Incidents, and Occurrences Bibliography


  St. Louis University Chartered
Category:  Education
Brief Description:  St. Louis University began in 1818 as St. Louis Academy, a school for the sons of pioneers of the west and a seminary. Two of its founders were Louis DuBourg, bishop of the Louisiana Territory, and Peter Verhaegen, who became the first Jesuit president of the school in 1826. In 1832, SLU became the first university west of the Mississippi River to receive a charter. In 1842, SLU opened the first university-affiliated medical and law schools west of the Mississippi. In 1888, SLU moved from its original location at 9th and Washington to its current location at Grand and Lindell. In addition to medical and law schools, over the years the University has added facilities for theology, business administration, social work, aeronautics, and nursing. Alumni and faculty members started five other universities: Xavier in Cincinnati, Marquette in Milwaukee, University of Detroit, Loyola in Chicago, and Creighton in Omaha. [St. Louis Portrait, p. 227, http://www.slu.edu/sluhistory/timeline.html]
Year:  1832
Decade:  1830 - 1839
Beginning Date:    1832
Ending Date:    1832
Event Description:  At its campus at Ninth and Washington streets, SLU opened to serve students aged 12-16.

DuBourg, Louis Guillaume Valentin
Verhaegen, Peter J.

Related Links
St. Louis University Timeline

Saint Louis Portrait



about historic preservationnew entries4 kids onlymap it!

This site was made possible by: the City of St. Louis Planning and Urban Design Agency and
the City of St. Louis Community Information Network.

This site was funded in part by Federal funds administered by the Missouri State Historical Preservation Office, Missouri Department of Natural Resources, The National Park Service, and the U.S. Department of the Interior.

Version 1.0