RESOLUTION NUMBER 6 Areva Martin

WHEREAS, known to audiences across the country from her regular appearances on The Dr. Phi IShow, as well as national stints on Fox News, NPR, and Court TV Radio Television, Areva Martin is one of television's most in-demand legal experts/analysts; and

WHEREAS, a quotable authority on workplace, disability rights, education, custody and women's issues, this accomplished and multi-award winning lawyer, syndicated columnist, author and public speaker is also quoted and or featured on the pages of publications ranging from the Los Angeles Daily Journal to Cookie Magazine to Redbook and the LA Times; and

WHEREAS, the founding and managing partner of Martin & Martin, LLP, Areva has built a reputation for action. In addition to positioning her firm as one of the premier African-American female owned firms in LA, Areva has developed a multidisciplinary civil practice, which serves some of the nation's top corporations, non-profit organizations, governmental entities and high net-worth individuals. She is also President and co-founder of Special Needs Network, Inc. (SNN), a non-profit launched specifically to support families with special needs children; and

WHEREAS, in addition to being a sought after legal expert, Areva is also an inspiring author. Her second book, The Everyday Advocate, is scheduled for release by Penguin Books in early2010. Her first book, Journey to the Top, is a must-read for female professionals interested in achieving the ultimate career success; and

WHEREAS, Areva's notable awards and achievements include: 2007 Woman of the Year Award from Los Angeles County, 2007 Neighborhood Hero from Bank of America, 2008 Smart Cookie Award from Cookie Magazine, 2008 Women of Worth Award from L'Oreal Paris, 2008 Trailblazer Award from First AME Church, 2008 Leadership Award from California Legislative Black Caucus, 2008 Power Hero Award from the United Cerebral Palsy Research Institute, 2008 Professional Excellence Award from the Association of University Women and 2009 Power PAC Award from LawPac; and

WHEREAS, she is the only African-American woman and attorney on the California Legislative Blue Ribbon Commission on Autism and is the Chair of several organizations, including: Chair of the South Los Angeles Autism Regional Task Force for the California Senate Select Committee on Autism, Founding member and Chair of the Ebell of Los Angeles' Women in Leadership Department and Chair of the California Legislative Black Caucus Foundation, Inc; and

WHEREAS, Areva graduated with honors from both the University of Chicago and Harvard Law School. She is a member of the Los Angeles County Bar Association, the American Bar Association and the Black Women Lawyers Association of Los Angeles. She is a native of St. Louis, Missouri and currently resides in Los Angeles with her family.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of Aldermen of the City of St. Louis that we pause to recognize the many contributions and achievements of Areva Martin and we further direct the Clerk of this Board to spread a copy of this Resolution across the minutes of these proceedings and to prepare a copy for presentation at a time and place deemed appropriate by the Sponsor.

Introduced on the 30th day of April, 2010 by:

Honorable April Ford Griffin, Alderwoman 5th Ward

Honorable Lewis E. Reed, President of the Board of Aldermen

Honorable Charles Quincy Troupe, Alderman 1st Ward

Honorable Dionne Flowers, Alderwoman 2nd Ward

Honorable Samuel L. Moore, Alderman 4th Ward

Honorable Kacie Starr Triplett, Alderwoman 6th Ward

Honorable Phyllis Young, Alderwoman 7th Ward

Honorable Stephen J. Conway, Alderman 8th Ward

Honorable Kenneth A. Ortmann, Alderman 9th Ward

Honorable Joseph Vollmer, Alderman 10th Ward

Honorable Matthew Villa, Alderman 11th Ward

Honorable Stephen Gregali, Alderman 14th Ward

Honorable Jennifer Florida, Alderwoman 15th Ward

Honorable Donna Baringer, Alderwoman 16th Ward

Honorable Joseph Roddy, Alderman 17th Ward

Honorable Terry Kennedy, Alderman 18th Ward

Honorable Marlene E. Davis, Alderwoman 19th Ward

Honorable Craig Schmid, Alderman 20th Ward

Honorable Antonio D. French, Alderman 21st Ward

Honorable Jeffrey L. Boyd, Alderman 22nd Ward

Honorable Joseph Vaccaro, Alderman 23rd Ward

Honorable William Waterhouse, Alderman 24th Ward

Honorable Shane Cohn, Alderman 25th Ward

Honorable Gregory J. Carter, Alderman 27th Ward

Adopted this the 30th day of April, 2010 as attested by:

David W. Sweeney Lewis E. Reed

Clerk, Board of Aldermen President, Board of Aldermen